Are You Happy?

 

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” Groucho Marx

 

Happiness is defined as “a state of mind or feeling characterized by contentment, love, satisfaction, pleasure, or joy.” How can we attain this sense of happiness and live up to our full potential? How can we strive for happiness in our lives? Why do we spend too much time dwelling about the past or thinking too much about the future?

A very wise person told me something a long time ago that is still stuck in my head till now. He said, “ When you focus too much on the past, you will be depressed, if you think too much about the future, you will become too anxious. Just focus on the present. That is all anyone can handle.”

Until now, I still abide by this. I have realized that I come first and to live in the moment. We only have one life to live and we should make the most out of it. It is impossible to satisfy the whole world. Being a people pleaser? Well, I found that only leads to disaster and setting unrealistic expectations for oneself.  The only person one should answer to is him or herself.

We all have different priorities in life. However, it is in human nature to feel a sense of pleasure or contentment. What are your priorities in life? Why are they important to you? Are they friends, family, wealth, etc.?

To me, being happy is setting goals you want to achieve and knowing what you want out of life. Set priorities and work from there. When you know what you want, all is downhill from there. It seems so simple, but when asked the question, “What do you want,” many stand dumbfounded.  It takes time and effort to find out who we are and what we want out of life. Many are still on their journey to self-discovery.  It is a process with no time limit.

We have the power to shape our lives. It all rests in our hands and no one else’s.  Happiness is something every rational person strives for and it can be achieved. In the end, life is a journey and can take you anyway you choose to go.

 

“Being happy is something you have to learn. I often surprise myself by saying ‘Wow, this is it. I guess I’m happy. I got a home I love. A career that I love. I’m even feeling more and more at peace with myself.’ If there’s something else to happiness, let me know. I’m ambitious for that, too.” Harrison Ford

 

Leave a Reply

